RSS

Here Comes Fall

17 Sep

 

Of all the seasons fall is my favourite.

There’s nothing like the changing leaves, the crisp smell of fresh air, the coolness at night that puts me in a deep slumber and, perhaps the best part, the first time I light up the fireplace. Fall is my time to read a good book, drink hot tea, curl up and nest and slow down and enjoy life. I remember how excited I was as a small child getting ready to go to the pumpkin patch. I’d comb through dozens of pumpkins looking for the biggest, roundest, thickest pumpkin to carve.

Each year, I’d try to carve a new face into my pumpkin for Halloween and see if I could outdo myself. Then came that special, spooky night when the Monster Movie Marathon would start…I’d get the popcorn ready, the hot chocolate, the homemade snacks and curl up with a blanket and get ready to be terrified.

The afternoons were spent raking pretty, multicoloured leaves and finding straw to stuff my scarecrow. As I grew and matured and life became more “serious”, my thoughts would always travel back to growing up and enjoying the miracle of the Autumn season.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Here Comes Fall

Leave a Reply

 
